Working on impV2

I've been hard at work on impV2 for the past 2 weeks now! I do like how it's coming along so far, but I'm not sure how long I'm going to want to keep it. As I work on it, I'm learning more and more. There are things I can already see with impV2 that I could've done better, but I don't really want to go back and fix. I'd rather just save all that for impV3. I'm not sure why I want to do things this way, but in my head it just works. It makes more sense to me to use what I learned during this project on my next project, rather than try to go back and revise my current project. Or maybe I'm just lazy. Who knows.

One thing I think I need to change about my workflow immediately is starting with the HTML when I actually go to code, instead of the CSS. In my head, it initially made more sense to prepare each individual piece before placing them all together, but it would probably be smarter and better practice to do everything in HTML first, then go into the CSS and customize everything once it's all set up and in place. After all, HTML is the framework. If you were, say, building a house, you start with the foundation (which would be the layout you want to accomplish) and build the framework on top of it (the HTML). Once the framework is set in place, you can build the rest of your house around it. That makes more sense, right? I think my backwards way of doing things comes from the fact that until now, I'd been using CSS in places like SpaceHey where the HTML framework is already in place.

I was initially going to use a puzzle analogy to explain my thought process behind doing CSS first, but then I realized that the analogy just further cements why HTML should go first. If you had a blank puzzle that you wanted to make your own design on, you wouldn't paint each individual piece in order to achieve one big picture. Instead, you'd put it all together first, and then paint over it.

Back to entries